Confusion As IEBC Gazettes 7 Losers As Winners, President Uhuru Says He Is Not a ‘KIFARANGA CHA KOMPYUTA’


The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) is under fire after it published the names of seven election losers in a special gazette notice released yesterday.

Residents of Bungoma were left disappointed after the names of the winners declared by the IEBC missed out in the publication.


Individuals whose names were published by IEBC as the MCAs in both Webuye East and West Constituencies lost in the concluded General Election.

In Webuye East Constituency, Wekesa Simiyu was listed as the area MCA-elect whereas Ali Mutoka had been declared the winner by the electoral commission.

Martin Wanyonyi emerged the winner in Ndivisi Ward, but his name did not appear in the Gazette notice. Instead, Nalyanya Catherine Samini who lost was gazetted as the area MCA-elect

Away from that, The United States has declared that it does not have any preferred outcome of the National Super Alliance (NASA) Petition challenging President Uhuru Kenyatta’s win at the Supreme Court.

US Ambassador to Kenya Robert Godec on Thursday confirmed that the country’s leadership would remain impartial to the final ruling and asked the Supreme Court to use the law and factual evidence in deciding the presidential petition

The presidential petition was filled by NASA leader Raila Odinga challenging the victory of the sitting president Uhuru Kenyatta.

He termed his victory as computer generated leaders-vifaranga vya komputa-

However, president Kenyatta refuted the claims saying that he- uhuru and his Deputy  Ruto are not vifaranga vya kompyuta for they were elected by the people of Kenya.

He added that the margin of 1,401,286 votes is more realistic to be ignored.